Posted by: Scott | June 15, 2009

Julie Doiron comes back to Louisville!!

Julie Doiron

In case you haven’t noticed, I have been touting just about everything that Julie Doiron puts her hands on lately.  Therefore, I could not be more excited that she is coming to town.  I think it would be safe to say that she is just about my favorite.  Not only am I totally in love with her, but I think she is a grittier, more tangible version of Feist.  Her songwriting is superb, and her voice is always just perfect.  She is a fan of spontaneous recording and her records somehow bridge the fine line between being recorded well and capturing the perfectly flawed one-takes.

It isn’t clear whether or not Freddie Squire will be behind the kit with her, but it is clear that this will be a great show as it will also feature the quintessential Louisville indie-rock band Second Story Man (who rumor has it will be putting a record out with Noise Pollution here in the fall).  Also opening is Egret, but I don’t much about them other than it is the project of auto-harpist Greta Smith.   The show happens at the venerable Skull Alley and is on Thursday June 25th.  I have a feeling it will be one of those shows where a criminally small number of people will attend, but please know that the last time Julie Doiron was in town it was with Mount Eerie on the ‘Lost Wisdom’ tour (which was my favorite release of 2008), and it was one of my favorite concert experiences of all time.

This show is certainly worth your money, just make sure you hit up the Casiotone for The Painfully Alone show that we here at Backseat Sandbar are throwing on the 27th (also at Skull Alley).


Leave a comment

Categories