Posted by: Cory | April 18, 2009

The Streets release a series of three singles in three days via Twitter, and another three next week

You’ve heard of twee music…now we’ve got tweet music. As you’ve probably heard by now, Mike Skinner, AKA The Streets, challenged himself to put out three original tracks via his Twitter account in three days this week, with a promise of another three tracks next week. Having been initially a little skeptical when Twitter first appeared on the scene back in ’06, I think it is incredible to see artists really embracing it with this potentially being the best use to date. I hope to see a lot more eccentric and innovative uses of twitter.

As for the quality of the works, I came into this having my doubts. I’ve been a huge fan since I first heard Original Pirate Material & managed to catch Mike in Brixton in 2004 just after A Grand Don’t Come For Free. Those two albums are perfect, but The Hardest Way to Make an Easy Living was hit or miss, with some incredible tracks like Never Went to Church, Two Nations, All Goes Out the Window, Momento Mori & Fake Streets Hats, but several others that just absolutely bombed. In contrast, Everything is Borrowed was terrible in its entirety, sounding more like a self-help audiobook than legit album. With that in mind, the trend has, in my eyes been steeply downward since the successes of AGDCFF, so I wasn’t expecting much at all. The first released track was “I Love My Phone”, a comical yet realistic accounting of our dependency on our phones with lines like “how would i survive without my outside line to the doubting life being in the inside lining of my trousers tonight?” and even uses the Nokia sms-notification beep as part of the beat. This track reminds me of the first time I hear any single from a new Streets album (Fit but You Know It, When You Wasn’t Famous), awkward, but accessible with the tendency to grow on you. With the second day’s release, “Trust Me”, I am given great hope that the next Streets album might be as “Ravey” as Mike is claiming it will be. Although a depressant, alcohol can be a great motivator, and as Mike tweeted “AND BACK IN THE PUB WITHIN 2 HOURS!”, it seems that party music is his most natural. “Trust Me” feels somewhere between Original Pirate Material and Hardest Way and it’s seriously a good track that I could see falling on either of those albums.  As for David Hassles…let’s just hope Mike spent too much time in the pub that night and that this doesn’t represent the direction for the supposedly final album.

The last bit of good news is that Mike enjoyed the creative process so much that he’s agreed to do it again next week, so be sure to follow Mike on Twitter to catch those, and while you’re at it, follow Backseat Sandbar on Twitter.

The Streets – I Love My Phone (Released April 14, 2009)

The StreetsTrust Me (Released April 15, 2009)  [RECOMMENDED]

The StreetsDavid Hassles (Released April 16, 2009)

Leave a Reply

Categories

