Posted by: hankwillenbrink | September 18, 2008

Next Monday?

I’ve been doing really well.  I haven’t really bitched about not having power for 5 days.  I’ve been cooking outside and playing Scrabble by candlelight and all that cool stuff that you’re supposed to be doing.  Then I read today that it may be until next MONDAY, the 25th when everything comes back on.  Or, so the people who report on the reporting over at The Ville Voice assure us.  Quoth the Ville Voice:

“I talked with the Public Service Commission’s Andrew Melnykovich this morning, and learned some more details about the outage. The PSC tracks all outages in the state, and Melnykovich notes that this is the absolute worst outage in history. Most systems around the state will be up and fully restored by the weekend, but LG&E won’t make any promises that it will be done before Sept. 29 – next Monday.

He said that 25 percent of Kentucky utility customers (600,000) were without power at the peak of the storm, and that about 180,000 remain without it, including at least 130,000 or so in Louisville. Three-quarters of LG&E’s 400,000 customers were affected at the peak of the storm, and 90 percent of those in northern Kentucky were.

When I asked Melnykovich about press inquiries, he said that the Associated Press, Cincinnati Enquirer, Kentucky News Network and WFPL-FM had been calling on a daily basis to get storm updates, but that the Courier-Journal had only called for the first time on Wednesday. Hmmm.”

And honestly, it’s not that bad not having power, though my posting average has decreased dramatically.  But, I figure it’s better for me anyway.  My one issue is that, just like I thought, no one really knows what’s going on.  And, if anything, that’s what really has me worried.

Read the rest of The Ville Voice article here.

My Brightest Diamond : Ice And The Storm

Responses

  1. He says the 29th, which is the Monday after next.

  2. Thanks Drew

  3. I BET SOMEONE KNOWS WHATS GOING ON

  4. Hey, what street is that?

  5. a little street called flickr.
    here’s some other good images:

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/bilbrown/2861230526/

    Hurricane Ike in Louisville

    Louisville Storm

  6. Over here in Indiana, some people will have power by the 24th. October 24th.


Leave a Reply

Categories

