Posted by: Cory | July 31, 2008

Review: Forecastle Day 3 – Backyard Tire Fire, RFK Jr., Brigid Kaelin, Gran Bel Fischer, Cabin, Catfish Haven, Paradigm, Groovatron, Del McCoury Band, Dr. Dog, The New Mastersounds

Each day of Forecastle had a distinct vibe, and Sunday’s was most definitely the AAA/NPR crowd.  I was set for a panel discussion for “The Internet Age” with plenty of other Internet savvy people, with only two people to watch us…my girlfriend and my roommate.  Instead, we cut out early and quickly catch Backyard Tire Fire before experiencing Robert F. Kennedy, Jr., who was the most affected and most touching speakers I have ever seen.  You couldn’t help coming out of his speech ready to change the world, and ready to get Bush out of the office.  RFKjr stuck primarily to environmental topics and tied it in very well with what is happening here in Kentucky.  One of the more incredulous things said was that after Clinton’s administration began the prosecution of 52 persons guilty of grotesque infractions of the Clean Air Act, Bush absolved each of them after receiving a collective $156M from their businesses, and then had the act amended so that these people would never go to prison again.  Fact after fact just like this one, RFK opened the eyes of so many.  The best line of the day, no doubt, was “you don’t stop crack addiction by giving more crack to the addicts!” with reference to the environmental policy of the US.

After RFK, Jr., Brigid Kaelin played the fountain area, where I caught one of my favorite songs of hers, the “Ballad of Motorcycle Joe”, before catching Gran Bel Fischer, who had the women in a tizzy.  The next show though was one I’ve been waiting far too long to see, Cabin.  Despite being local kids, I’ve been waiting forever to see them & they put on exactly the show I was waiting to see. Catfish Haven put a little more rock into their show that I expected. Paradigm didn’t seem to have much energy, but much of that can be blamed on the heat, I am sure. They put on a good set nevertheless. Groovatron & The New Mastersounds each put good shows if you’re into that sort of thing. I recognize it’s unfair of me to comment on entire genres of music I don’t like, and so I won’t.

Dr. Dog was the highlight of the night, and many of us were fearful that it was never going to happen. Sound problems caused them to go on around 15 minutes late. Once they did, the show was great.  I saw them last year when they played at Phoenix Hill Tavern and was totally disappointed.  They came off cheesy and I may have liked one or two songs they played.  With a new album Fate, released last month, Dr. Dog has broken away from simply hopping around on stage and singing passionately about nothing, to really coming into their own and showing their true talent.  I told myself to go into this show with an open mind, and I’m glad I did, because now I can call myself a Dr. Dog fan.  At least, from here on out.

**MORE PICTURES**

Backyard Tire Fire

RFK, Jr.







Brigid Kaelin

Arts & Activism Park




Gran Bel Fischer

Cabin













Catfish Haven



Paradigm




Groovatron






Del McCoury Band



Dr. Dog









The New Mastersounds




Responses

  1. You missed The Town Criers! they were freakin’ awesome.

  2. FYI, Paradigm didn’t play Terrastock.

    They played a good set at Forecastle. I don’t think they were lacking energy, it was really the audience that was lacking energy. It’s tough to get fired up for a daytime set, especially when it’s a thousand degrees outside.

  3. Good day! The babes are here! This is my favorite site to visit. I make sure I am alone in case I get too hot. Post your favorite link here.


Leave a Reply

Categories

