Posted by: Cory | June 5, 2008

Minnow, Venus Trap, Head Above Water @ Derby City Espresso – 6/5 (Tonight!)

Minnow, Venus Trap & Head Above Water are playing at Derby City Espresso tonight for $3.  Minnow is a standard indie rock band and they’re giving their music away on their myspace page, so I strongly encourage taking a listen and taking a track or 6 if you dig it.  I don’t know much about them, but had been told they shared a member from Slint, but I don’t see it.  Venus Trap is a very fun band that should have existed in the mid 90s, having clear Veruca Salt influences. Head Above Water is more on the punk rock end of things…should make for a diverse, but fun punk rock show & how many of those have you seen at a coffeehouse…?

Responses

  1. “I don’t know much about them, but thre are rumors that they may or may not have a member from some little, largely unknown band who called themselves Slint.”

    Totally wrong. Minnow is Rob Pennington (Endpoint, By the Grace of God), Rob’s-wife-whose-name-I’ve-forgotten, Doug Maxon (Your Food) and Carrie Neumayer (Second Story Man). Nobody from Slint is in the band, though they did open for Slint last year at Irving Plaza in New York (and were excellent).

  2. Thanks Joel…like I said, I don’t know them and was just relaying info from the organizer…I didn’t see any common names between the groups either & I knew about last year’s show, but assumed there was something I was missing…

  3. I don’t think any of us ever really listened to Veruca Salt either. So 2 outta 3 were wrong… but you know… close enough!


Leave a Reply

Categories

