Posted by: Cory | January 13, 2008

Ingrid Michaelson @ The 930 – 2/11

The beautiful & beautifully talented Ingrid Michaelson is coming back to Kentucky to play at the 930 arts center on Monday, February 11 @ 8pm. I saw Ingrid at Ear X-tacy this past summer & had no idea who she was. After her set, I spoke with her out on the street as she was walking back to Ear X-tacy with her groceries in hand. She was so incredibly friendly…more personable than a lot of artists who will talk to fans out of a sense of obligation. I think she genuinely appreciated that I (and everyone else) was there. It was the strangest thing to see the casualness of it all. I now understand how that suits her so well.

Ingrid is one of many indie folk artists out there with a lot of buzz behind them now, and while it can at times get to be too much, I think Ingrid does it in an uplifting/fun way that’s wonderful to listen to and so she can play as indie folk as she likes and I’ll be there…bells on, camera shooting. I hear her voice & fall deeper in love everytime. If you didn’t know Ingrid in 2007, I assure you you’ll know her in 2008. Pick up a copy of the album Girls and Boys…you’re going to love it. It, along with clothes and other things are available at her Online Store…if you’re going to buy, either support local, or support her directly.

How ironic that I just happened to mention Ingrid earlier this week, with respect to the Sara Bareilles show, and now they’re both playing just a few weeks apart.

The show at the 930 is all ages & costs $12, February 11 @ 8pm.

Ingrid Michaelson – The Way I Am (The Old Navy commercial)
Ingrid Michaelson – Keep Breathing

UPDATE: Check out my review of the show HERE.


Leave a comment

Categories